Tax Incentives Regime for Companies Engaged in Scientific and Technological Innovation Activities

The SAR Government has launched a Tax Incentive Regime for Companies Engaged in Scientific and Technological Innovation Activities in a bid to facilitate technological innovation and the establishment of a smart city, support the development plan of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, promote the development of technological innovation in the Macao SAR and foster a moderately diversified development of local industries. Eligible enterprises may apply to the Financial Services Bureau.

 

Scope of the tax incentive regime

Upon approval, eligible enterprises are entitled to the following tax incentives:

  1. Stamp duty for conveyance of immovable property: Stamp duty for conveyance of immovable property is exempted for the enterprises that have obtained an immovable property by compensated or uncompensated means for their business operation (immovable properties of residential usage are inapplicable; each applicant can enjoy exemption for one immovable property only);
  2. Property tax: Property tax of the immovable property concerned is exempted for a duration of five fiscal years;
  3. Profits tax: Enterprises are exempt from profits tax for three years from the time a declaration of taxable profits has been submitted (profits distributed by the enterprises to equity holders or dividends to shareholders also apply);
  4. Salaries tax: Enterprises that have recruited employees for administrative management and technological research and development are exempt from twice the amount of salaries tax for 3 years from the time of the said approval.

 

Application Eligibility

  1. Natural persons or legal persons who have been registered at the Commerce and Movable Property Registry
  2. ‘Scientific and technological innovation activities’ are the main business activities for one year (see Note*)
  3. Profits Tax Group A taxpayers
  4. Non-debt-arrears to the Treasury of the Macao SAR with a certificate issued by the Financial Services Bureau

*Note: ‘Scientific and technological innovation activities’ refer to businesses involving innovative inventions or the application of scientific knowledge, technologies or crafts by innovative means, to businesses involving the manufacturing of products or the provision of services, especially for business that applies scientific and technological innovation to areas such as new-generation information technology, artificial intelligence, integrated circuits, biomedicine, traditional Chinese medicine, energy conservation and environmental protection, marine engineering, nutrition, new energy and aerospace, or innovative inventions related to these areas.

 

Application procedures

Applicants must submit proposals, reports and other supporting documents to the Financial Services Bureau regarding the enterprises’ business activities related to scientific and technological innovation. The applications will be reviewed by a dedicated committee composed of representatives from the government, business sector and academia, who will assess whether the enterprises meet the requirements of being engaged in scientific and technological innovation business. The committee will then issue a binding opinion for each application and the relevant tax incentives will be examined and approved by the Financial Services Bureau.

To ensure the effectiveness of the measures, the committee will re-assess the approved enterprises within the fourth year from the time of the approval. In case an enterprise is found to no longer meet the requirements for the tax incentives, the Financial Services Bureau will terminate the tax incentives regime and the enterprise concerned will be obligated to repay the exempted amount of tax.

 

Competent department: Financial Services Bureau

從事科技創新業務企業的稅務優惠制度

為促進科技創新、建設智慧城市,同時配合粵港澳大灣區發展規劃,推動科技創新在澳門特別行政區的發展,促進本地產業適度多元,澳門特別行政區制定《從事科技創新業務企業的稅務優惠制度》,合資格企業可向財政局提出申請。

 

稅務優惠範圍

經審批符合資格的企業可享有下列稅務優惠:

  1. 不動產財產移轉印花稅:豁免以有償方式取得的一個作自身經營用途的不動產的財產移轉印花稅(但取得屬居住用途的不動產除外,且每一申請者只能對一個不動產享有豁免);
  2. 房屋稅:有關不動產獲豁免5個年度的房屋稅;
  3. 所得補充稅:豁免企業繳納自申報有可課稅利潤年度起計3年內的所得補充稅(同時適用於企業分派給股東的利潤或分派給股份持有人的股息);
  4. 職業稅:企業聘用從事行政管理及科技研究發展工作的僱員,自獲批准起計3年內可享有兩倍職業稅的免稅額。

申請資格

  1. 已辦理商業登記的自然人或法人
  2. 以“科技創新業務”(見備註* ) 為主要業務且滿一年
  3. 為所得補充稅A組納稅人
  4. 經財政局證明非澳門特別行政區庫房債務人

*備註:“科技創新業務”是指創新發明或以創新方式將科學知識、技術或工藝應用在產品製造或服務提供方面的業務,尤其是將有關科技創新成果應用於新一代信息技術、人工智能、集成電路、生物醫藥、中醫藥、節能環保、海洋工程、營養、新能源、航空航天等相關領域或有關該等領域的創新發明。

申請手續

申請須附同企業從事有關科技創新業務的計劃書、報告,以及其他證明文件,向財政局提交。申請將由政府、工商界及學術界代表所組成的科技創新業務企業評審委員會進行分析,以認定企業是否符合從事科技創新業務的要件。該委員會將就申請發出具約束力的意見書,並由財政局審批有關稅務優惠。

為確保措施的有效性,科技創新業務企業評審委員會在分析認定是否符合從事科技創新業務要件當年起計的第4年內,對獲批企業進行複核,倘發現企業不再符合取得稅務優惠的條件,財政局將終止有關稅務優惠,並要求企業補繳獲豁免的稅款。

 

執行部門:財政局