Financial Sector

Macao has been promoting the development of the financial sector with an emphasis attached to the development of the bond market, wealth management, financial leasing and cross-border financial business. While striving to become engaged in and serve the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, the city is committed to establishing itself as the “Financial Service Platform between China and PSCs” and contributing to the construction of the “Belt and Road”.

Banking

  • As of the end of 2020, there were 31 banks in Macao; the assets of the banking industry totalled over MOP2.2 trillion with a capital adequacy ratio of 14.6% and a non-performing loan ratio of 0.4%.

 

Insurance Industry

  • As of the end of 2020, there were 25 insurance companies in Macao; assets of the insurance industry totalled MOP183.5 billion with an insurance penetration rate of 14.9%.

 

Bond Market

  • Chongwa (Macao) Financial Asset Exchange Co. Ltd. (MOX) was established in October 2018, where over MOP150 billion of various bonds, including national bonds, financial bonds and corporate bonds, have been listed as of late April 2021. The bonds cover a range of currencies such as the Renminbi, US dollar and HK dollar.

Wealth Management

As of the end of 2019, there were over 310,000 wealth management clients in Macao with an investment portfolio market value of MOP243.6 billion. In February 2021, the “Memorandum of Understanding on the Launch of the Cross-Boundary Wealth Management Connect Pilot Scheme in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area” was signed by financial authorities of the Mainland, Macao and Hong Kong.

  • The city has been continuously improving its soft and hard financial infrastructures, including intensifying efforts on the legislation of the Trust Law, and amendment to the Financial System Act, and has sped up the construction of a Central Securities Depository System that will connect Macao with international bond markets, seeking to create a favourable environment to facilitate the bond business of domestic and overseas enterprises in Macao.


List of financial institutions in Macao, please visit here

金融业

积极推动金融业发展,重点发展债券市场、财富管理、融资租赁和跨境金融业务,在立足并服务于粤港澳大湾区的基础上,致力打造“中国—葡语国家金融服务平台”,助力“一带一路”建设。

 

银行业

截至2020年底,共有31家银行,银行业资产总额逾2.2万亿澳门元,资本充足比率14.6%,不良贷款比率0.4%。

 

保险业

截至2020年底,共有25家保险公司,保险业资产总额1,835亿澳门元,保险渗透率14.9%。

 

债券市场

中华(澳门)金融资产交易股份公司(MOX)于2018年10月成立,截至2021年10月底,债券发行上市规模已累计突破2,000亿澳门元,包括国债、金融债、公司债等各类债券产品,涉及人民币、美元、港元等多币种。

 

财富管理

截至2019年底,财富管理客户超过31万户,投资组合市值2,436亿澳门元。内地、澳门及香港金融部门于2021年2月共同签订《关于在粤港澳大湾区开展“跨境理财通”业务试点的谅解备忘录》,并于同年9月举行“粤港澳大湾区跨境理财通启动仪式”及发布《粤港澳大湾区“跨境理财通”业务试点实施细则》。

  • 澳门金融软硬件基础建设将持续完善,《信托法》、《金融体系法律制度》的立法及修法工作,加快筹建与国际债券市场连接的“中央证券托管系统”(CSD),创设良好环境促进海内外企业来澳发展。



澳门金融机构名单请浏览此处