Tourism and Leisure Industries
  • The Historic Centre of Macao was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in July 2005. With the old district as the core, the Historic Centre of Macao consists of 22 Chinese and Western-style buildings that are connected by 8 squares and public spaces, serving as an important feature for the tourism industry.
  • In November 2017, Macao was designated as a “Creative City of Gastronomy” by the UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN). A number of restaurants have been listed on internationally respected guidebooks, such as Michelin Guide, Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants, Black Pearl Restaurant Guide and Forbes Travel Guide.
  • In 2019, 39.406 million tourists visited Macao and spent MOP 64.08 billion. The gross value added of the tourism and leisure industries accounted for about 50% of the gross value added of all local economic activities.
  • Macao’s tourism sector suffered significantly from the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, but thanks to the efforts made by all members of society, the pandemic prevention has seen positive results during the preliminary stage. In July of the same year, travel between Macao and the Mainland gradually returned to normal and the number of visitor arrivals in Macao has seen a steady growth. In 2020, 5.897 million tourists visited Macao and spent MOP11.94 billion.
  • As of the end of April 2021, there were 119 hotel establishments in Macao, supplying 37,300 guest rooms.

旅游休闲业
  • 2005年7月获联合国教科文组织(UNESCO)列入《世界文化遗产名录》的澳门历史城区以旧城区为核心,由22座中西式建筑及8个广场前地连接而成,是旅游业的一张重要名片。
  • 2017年11月获联合国教科文组织创意城市网络(UCCN)评为“创意城市美食之都”,多家餐厅上榜《米芝莲指南》、《亚洲50最佳餐厅》、《黑珍珠餐厅指南》和《福布斯旅游指南》等国际知名榜单。
  • 2019年入境旅客3,940.6万人次,总消费金额640.8亿澳门元,旅游休闲业增加值占整体行业增加值总额约50%。
  • 2020年旅游业受新冠肺炎疫情冲击严重,但经各方努力,防疫抗疫工作初见成效。同年7月起与内地陆续恢复正常往来,访澳旅客量逐渐增加。2020年入境旅客589.7万人次,总消费金额119.4亿澳门元。
  • 截至2021年8月底,共有115间酒店场所,合共可提供35,700间客房。