Social Insurance

According to the Social Insurance Law of the People’s Republic of China ,social insurance is composed of basic old-age insurance, basic medical insurance, work injury insurance, unemployment insurance and maternity insurance. Employers and employees should participate in the social insurance scheme, and employers should register employees’ social insurance at the social insurance agency within 30 days of employment. The social insurance payable by employees should be withheld and paid by employers on their behalf. For the obligations and contribution ratios of both parties, please see the table below:

Insurance TypeEmployer’s ContributionEmployee’s Contribution
Basic Old-age14%8%
Basic Medical3.0%-6.5%1.5%-2.0%
Work Injury0.09%-0.16% 
Unemployment0.32%-0.70%0.2%-0.3%
Maternity0.0%-1.0% 

Note: Each of the GBA nine cities has their own contribution ratios for the five types of insurance.

Following both employers’ and employees’ participation in social insurance according to the law, employees are legally protected by the corresponding insurances.

The Interim Measures for Hong Kong, Macao, and Taiwan Residents to Participate in Social Insurance Scheme in the Mainland promulgated by the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security and the National Healthcare Security Administration on 29 November 2019  explicitly states that Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan residents have the same rights and obligations as the mainland residents, so that they are covered under the social insurance system of Mainland China. With respect to the administrative procedures, Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan residents are given more convenience in view of the actual situation to better protect their social insurance rights and interests. The content of the Interim Measures mainly includes:


1.Applicability

The Interim Measures covers two categories of Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan personnel. The first category is employees, including those in different forms of employment such as employment in mainland entities, flexible employment, and self-employment; the second category is non-employed persons, including those living in the mainland but not in employment, which also includes university students.


2.Applicable Insurance Types

The Interim Measures stipulates that Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan residents who are employed on the mainland should participate in the five types of basic social insurance. Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan residents living in Mainland China but not in employment may participate in the “basic old-age and medical insurance for urban and rural residents” of their place of residence according to the regulations.


3.Entitlement

The Interim Measures stipulates that Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan residents who participate in the social insurance scheme are entitled to the social insurance benefits in accordance with the law. In the meantime, the Interim Measures has given clarification to several special circumstances, such as reaching the age of receiving pension after a contribution period of less than 15 years, and the entitlement of basic medical insurance after retirement.


4.Handling Procedures

The Interim Measures stipulates that the various social insurance application procedures for Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan residents will be in consistence with those for mainland residents. Also, the Interim Measures makes specific provisions on issues such as handling social insurance registrations, issuance of social security cards, handling of social insurance relations for those leaving the mainland, and transferring social insurance relations across provinces.


5.Issue of Duplicated Payment

To effectively protect the social insurance rights and interests of Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan residents, while reducing the burdens on enterprises and individuals, with their actual conditions and demands fully taken into consideration, the Interim Measures stipulates that those residents who have participated in the local social insurance system of Hong Kong, Macao, and Taiwan and continue to maintain social insurance relations with these regions can be exempt from participation in the old-age or unemployment insurance in Mainland China, with valid certificates issued by the relevant authorised institutions.


6.Policy Transition

In order to leave space for future transition arrangements, the Interim Measures stipulates that the specific arrangements made for social insurance matters between the mainland and relevant Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan institutions shall prevail.

 

Source:

Official websites of the Central People’s Government of the People’s Republic of China, the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security,

“Response of Responsible personnel from the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security and the National Healthcare Security Administration to Media Questions on the Interim Measures for Hong Kong, Macao, and Taiwan Residents to Participate in Social Insurance Scheme in Mainland China”;

Social insurance contribution ratios provided by the advisory labour service company

社会保险

根据中华人民共和国社会保险法,社会保险由基本养老保险、基本医疗保险、工伤保险、失业保险、生育保险构成,用人单位和职工应当参加社会保险,用人单位应当自用工之日起三十日内为其职工向社会保险经办机构申请办理社会保险登记。职工应当缴纳的社会保险费由用人单位代扣代缴,双方的义务及供款比例请见下表:

险种 用人单位缴纳 职工缴纳
基本养老保险 14% 8%
基本医疗保险 3.0%-6.5% 1.5%-2.0%
工伤保险 0.09%-0.16%  
失业保险 0.32%-0.70% 0.2%-0.3%
生育保险 0.0%-1.0%  

备註:大湾区九市各有指定的五险缴纳比例


在用人单位和职工依法参与社会保险后,职工依法受相应保险的保障。


根据国家人社部门在 2019 年 11 月 29 日發布的香港澳门台湾居民在内地(大陆)参加社会保险暂行办法,明确港澳台居民与内地居民享受同等权利、履行同等义务,使其受到内地社会保险制度的复盖;在经办服务方面,针对港澳台居民实际情况,作出便利性安排,以更好地维护其社会保险权益。其主要内容包括:

一、适用人员范围:

《暂行办法》将两类港澳台人员纳入适用范围。第一类是就业人员,包括在内地单位就业、灵活就业、个体经营等各种形式的就业人员;第二类是非就业人员,包括在内地居住但未就业的人员及在校大学生等。

二、适用险种:

《暂行办法》规定,在内地就业的港澳台居民应当参加五项基本社会保险。在内地居住未就业港澳台居民,可以在居住地按规定参加城乡居民基本养老保险和医疗保险。

三、待遇享受:

《暂行办法》规定,参加社会保险的港澳台居民,依法享受社会保险待遇。同时,《暂行办法》对参加养老保险达到领取待遇年龄时缴费不足15年的、退休后基本医疗保险待遇的享受等几类特殊情况进行了明确。

四、经办程序:

《暂行办法》规定,港澳台居民办理社会保险的各项业务流程与内地(大陆)居民一致。同时,《暂行办法》对办理社会保险登记、發放社会保障卡、离开内地社会保险关係处理、跨省社会保险关係转移等问题作了具体规定。

五、双重缴费问题:

为切实保护港澳台居民社会保险权益,同时充分考虑其实际情况和诉求,减轻企业和个人负担,《暂行办法》规定,已在香港、澳门、台湾参加当地相关社会保险,并继续保留社会保险关係的港澳台居民,可持相关授权机构出具的证明,不在内地参加养老保险和失业保险。

六、政策衔接:

为给未来的衔接安排留出空间,《暂行办法》规定,内地与香港、澳门、台湾有关机构就社会保险事宜作出具体安排的,按照相关规定办理。

资料来源:中华人民共和国中央人民政府官网、人力资源和社会保障部、“人力资源社会保障部、国家医保局相关负责同志就《香港澳门台湾居民在内地(大陆)参加社会保险暂行办法》答记者问”、供款比例由顾问劳务公司提供